Travel isn’t always pretty. It isn’t always comfortable. Sometimes it hurts, it even breaks your heart, but that’s okay. The journey changes you; it should change you. It leaves marks on your memory, on your consciousness, on your heart, and on your body. You take something with you, hopefully, you leave something good behind. 

-Anthony Bourdain

Tokyo has been on my bucket list for years, and last year’s trip to the Land of the Rising Sun not only gave me a dream ticked off from this wanderlist but it also gave me memorable experiences and a handful of valuable lessons that I get to keep for a lifetime β€” whether it maybe about traveling alone, fashion, culture and even life in general.

  1. Japanese value promptness but they sometimes get struck with tardiness as well. They have a strict schedule of their transportation, based on what time and when will it arrive at a station. But, even though they have this, of course, there will be times that they still get to be at your station 30 minutes late from ETA because of unforeseen circumstancesβ€” and then you’re late for your flight back to Manila. Which brings me to my second point.
  2. Always, always, allot extra time when going to the airport to give leeway for any unexpected errors, hassles and stops along the way, and this way, you will save yourself from buying another plane ticket to Manila which by this time costs a fortune.
  3. You can’t fix what’s already broken. It’s like picking up shattered pieces of a glass, you will not get to put it back ever and it will just eventually hurt you more in the process.
  4. Closure can start with yourself. You can have closure if you want to. If that person wanted to give it to you in the first place, no matter where you are in this part of the world, you will have it. There was a reason things did not work out before so prepare yourself to realize that everything may not go back what it was like before.  
  5. Spring is officially my favorite season. Not just because of the pretty sakura but it is also nature’s way of telling me that everything will be brand new it its own time and season.

Japan will always be close to my heart, I went there clueless and unsure and came back with the new sense of hope, that even if things may not work out the way I want it, at least I get to experience how its like, all its highs and lows and in betweens, and next year, when I go back, I’ll surely enjoy it to no end with no strings attached.

